About Us

CanAuthors Alberta connects, inspires, and recognizes emerging and established writers through professional development opportunities

Since the summer of 1966, the Alberta Branch of the Canadian Authors Association (CAA) have been welcoming, serving, and celebrating authors of all ages, stages, and abilities. From the youngest of students inspired by the Writers in Schools Program (WISP) to emerging writers encouraged by our Writer in Residence (WiR) services to published authors honoured at our Exporting Alberta Gala, we are helpers. 


The Canadian Authors Association (CAA) was founded in 1921 by Stephen Leacock, Pelham Edgar, B.K. Sandwell, John Murray Gibbon and several other prominent writers of the time, to lobby for the protection of authors' rights, an objective that CAA continues to pursue. The Association was a key part of the 1924 copyright legislation and began pressing for a new Copyright Act in the 1980s.

The Canadian Authors Association (CAA) also advocates for the protection of writers' rights and intellectual property, awards and encourages Canadian writing and creates markets for Canadian writing.

Two CAA Branches were established in Alberta, the Edmonton Branch of the CAA was formed on April 26, 1921 at a MacDonald Hotel dinner arranged by Nellie McClung and Judge Emily Murphy. As many as 70 attended, including Alberta’s premier and lieutenant governor, and Edmonton’s mayor. Nellie McClung became the Edmonton organization’s first president. Five Calgary delegates attended the inaugural meeting and supported the idea of one provincial branch in Edmonton but wanted an additional branch with its own officers for Southern Alberta. Supporters of the CAA Calgary and Edmonton chapters include Grant MacEwan and W. O. Mitchell.

Today, the Canadian Authors Association Alberta Branch represents writers from across the province and provides a variety of programming and events.

We receive funding support from: